Fashion Show 2017

Over two weeks ago I presented my designs on fashion show 2017. It was a pleasure to do that next to two lovely ladies Zala Hrastar and Bernarda Gabrijel, both presenting their own designs and visions. Every year fashion show comes with a lot of excitement and challenges alongside. If I would be to describe this fashion show in few words I would say: a mess, hurry, breakdown, chasing last minutes and a lot of supportive people. This is how it went down.

LAST EXAM

The deadline was set – June 16th, 2017.  I had that date in my head all the time when finishing with last exams and assignments in school. I had decided that it will be the best to finish school But it turned out my last exam was June 6th, which meant I was left with 10 days. In these 10 days, I had to make practically everything.  Not much time to over think, as I usually like to start. There was only space for work and efficiency.

DESIGNS

The only thing that I was clear about was Mia’s dress, so this is where I started. I finished it in about 5 days, which meant a majority of my time was all focused on this dress. So that left me with just a little time to create and finish all the necessary work. And that led me to stressful situation.

I AM KIND OF LOST…

I admit.  In the middle of these fast paced but short 10 days, I had this desperate, annoying, definitely not rare evening, where I let all of my doubts and fears take control of me. At that point emotional breakdown was inevitable.

I know myself and I know I am efficient under the pressure. But there is a limit for everything. When I started questioning, whether I’ll be able to deliver work I can proudly stand behind, I lost that confidence and motivation that drives me. I was confused and didn’t know how to continue. Thought of how little time I have left scared me even more. I was exhausted. I forgot to stop for a second and breathe. But every time something like this happens, I am reminded how lucky I am to be surrounded by lovely humans that give me the words of motivation and hugs to comfort me.

DESPERATE FOR HELP

So I cleared my mind, made a solid realizable plan and got back to work. But I was still alone making all this happen and I knew that even If I work day and night I still won’t be able to finish up all the designs. I learned from a previous time, the least you can do is to ask a person for help. It is stupid to not even try and believe nobody would want to help you. And every person next to you has a different perspective, that can help you with ideas to solve problems or it can be a pair of helpful hands to sew buttons. Plus, if you have best friends to help you, laughs are guaranteed. So thank you Marija and Urša for every seam, button, advice and opinion that helped creations come alive. Plus, thank you for jokes and night full of laughs.

LIN E UP

I expected to work until the last second. Even when we were doing fittings with the models in the backstage, I had my thread and needle with me to finish up edges and sew on another button. Thanks to help from Anja, things in the backstage were much more manageable. I don’t think I could handle last few hours before the show without her. So thank you! 

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

At the end, it all came down to 8 looks divided into two sections, each one having its own tone and vibe. When I was putting together the line-up, I had a certain image of  women that would wear these clothes to reflect their personality and attitude. This is my vision behind these looks. 

 //1

The combination of white and dark blue is the foundation on which relaxed, on first sight simple, silhouettes are built. Patterns are simple, appropriate for summer, but can be easily incorporated into warm days of other seasons. High waisted shorts that elongate legs, are paired each with white top piece. White long, sleeveless top with pleats on the back is truly amazing when in movement. It’s tucked in light cotton shorts with a large bow, that adds a touch of youth and cuteness.

Materials that are used indicates how summer lightness can be interpreted in many different ways. Recycled jeans of different shades gives dynamic to the piece and creates strong look in combination with linen blazer. In between there is also a dress – Mia’s dress. More words about that special dress in my following post.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

//2

From light and monochromatic combinations to dark and “gangsta” looks – as my cousin calls it. Every look has a black bottom piece that is paired with pieces of classic patterns. However each has something special to it. Like shirt with blue flower pattern or T-shirt that combine white mesh and grey-white pattern.

Off-shoulder grey top with long high-waisted pants is probably my favourite combination to wear. Strong and fierce – something to step out of everyday comfort zone.

With second look I had quite a lot of thoughts. I was thinking how could I style classic black pencil skirt to give it a different feel. So I created this firm jeans top with V-cut, using recycled jeans of different shades, to style a real cool kid look. At the end, there was no question about styling this with sneakers and a choker. 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Thanks…

So this would wrap up my fashion show.  At the beginning I was very unsure if I would make it at all. But I am so happy it happened. The whole experience was really amazing in so many ways. I am beyond grateful for all the people who came to see the show or saved a little kind thought for me.

Big thanks to my dear friends – Urša, Marija, Anja, Mia for all the help, motivation, critique and challenges. Thanks to my mom for comfort. Thanks to Zala Hrastar for being such a nice and inspirational person. Thanks to all of the models and at last, thanks to Špela for photographs – my eternal memory.

I think that’s it. I should probabaly stop. Thank you for reading through all of this. I would love to hear what you think. Comment maybe? ok, I’ll stop.bye.

Spread love, Maja

4 thoughts on “Fashion Show 2017

Leave a Reply

