The Linen Jacket – Fashion design of the month

Welcome back to this series. It’s been a long time since I last published one of my designs. I could tell many reasons why, but you’re not here for excuses and apologies, neither am I. Let’s just rather tell this one story of another jacket – from linen to lining.

THE FABRIC

I make most of my designs by reusing old clothes or whatever material I get from different people. This time I got bags full of different fabric and somewhere inside, there was this simple linen white fabric with black stripes. When I fist saw it I couldn’t think of anything else but a simple basic jacket. It has this light feeling to it, that reminds me of careless summer days, the seaside and gives me those marine vibes. I knew from the beginning that this is going to be simple jacket and fabric will be the statement on its own.  

THE CONCEPT

Unlike the first jacket I made for my series, this jacket is not as much focused on ornaments and composition of details. However, I wanted to give the jacket the added valued it deserved while staying true to the classic. So I decided to include all the components that make the real jacket – collar, welt pocket and lining. But there was a twist. I didn’t know how to make any of them. For the pocket I didn’t even know how’s it’s called. But for me, this was a challenge. A new learning opportunity, that required a lot of YouTube tutorials and a lot of help from my amazing aunt.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

IN THE MAKING

Knowing how many new things I will have to learn along the way, I started making parts of the jacket I know how to do. But when the pocket part showed up, I spent quite some time searching for the right YouTube tutorial. But after it was done, it didn’t really seem like such a big deal.

The real challenges were just about to begin. So I basically made the entire structure of the jacket, but I wanted the lining so there would be no seams seen. And I had no idea how to do it. I was analysing my other white blazer to see how it’s made and nothing made no sense. I didn’t know how much fabric do I need for lining, hot much to add for seam allowance, what seam to make first or any of the important things. I was stuck.

LEARNING

So I took my whole weekend to go to my aunt’s place and work on that piece. It turned out that neither did she knew how exactly to make the jacket’s lining. But she didn’t need a lot of time to figure it out. She is just so calm. If one seam line isn’t right, you start over – no big deal. And so it was this lovely weekend. We helped each other so both of us learned something new. I love when we can exchange our knowledge and tips, so we can always improve and make even better creations.

PHOTOS

And that’s the story behind this jacket. But there was another story to tell. The visuals that would capture the vibe and the concept of this jacket. Thanks to the amazing Špela Skubic for her perspective and ideas, that always results in amazing photos. Check her out!

This was the Fashion design of the May. I hope you enjoyed as much as I did in the process of making this piece. Filled with new knowledge I’m moving on to the next challenge. I’m making one special dress, for one special person. Coming soon. Until then…

Spread love, Maja.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

One thought on “The Linen Jacket – Fashion design of the month

Leave a Reply

